Loyd Grossman Tomato and Chilli Sauce

I know very little about Loyd Grossman except he has a funny voice and used to deliberate, cogitate and digest on old school masterchef in the mid 90s. I don’t know if his background is as a chef, a presenter or even a food critic, therefore I have no idea what qualifications he has to make pasta sauce, but I thought i’d give him the benefit of the doubt and give one a go.

I opted for tomato and chilli.  The cooking instructions said warm in a saucepan and add to your favourite pasta which is exactly what I did – no bacon, no mussels, no clams, nothing – just pasta and sauce (and a sprinkle of parmesan). I thought this might be a flavour gamble, but if that is what Loyd suggests who am I to argue.

It turns out it was a flavour gamble this sauce was pretty bad. The tomatoes were thin and watery providing body but no flavour which is unfortunate in a tomato based sauce. The next headline ingredient is chilli; I concede that there was some chilli in there providing a little bit of heat but it was completely overshadowed by garlic and sugar. This was one of the most depressing bowls of food I have had the misfortune to eat. If it had been called tomato, garlic and sugar sauce I would not have bought it, but at least the label would have been accurate.

Loyd Grossman Tomato and Chilli Sauce £1.78 for 350g (currently £1 in Sainsburys)

3/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Loyd Grossman Tomato and Chilli Sauce

  1. Miss T says:

    Maybe lloyd has sold out because when I lived in your neck of the woods it was teh best jarred sauce you could get. Shame.

  2. Nicola says:

    This was a great sauce 10 years ago. I’d go as far as to say it was my favourite “pasta sauce in a jar” (a little like saying “the best Welsh claret”, but still…). Haven’t tried it since. I suspect with increase in time since he was on telly, the standards may have slipped.

    Fun idea for a site. I will enjoy browsing 🙂

    • A lot of people seem to be a fan – perhaps it is just me who wasn’t so keen. I have heard much better things about the curry sauce though so will get round to that soon. Thank you for reading and enjoy the “Welsah Claret”!

  3. Pingback: Gordon Ramsay Seriously Good Spicy Red Curry | Michelin Microwave

  4. Pingback: Dallaglio Tricolore Pasta Sauce | Michelin Microwave

  5. Pingback: Happy Birthday Michelin Microwave | Michelin Microwave

  6. Pingback: Rahila Hussain Fragrant White Chicken Korma | Michelin Microwave

Leave a Reply

