Pierre Koffman Beef Bourguignon from Morrison’s M Kitchen

I got inspired to start this blog when I drove past a photo of Nigel Haworth posing with a hotpot on a Morrison’s poster. A bit further down the road I saw Bryn Williams on another poster and before I knew it there was Pierre Koffman on another. They (and others) had all signed up to create some meals for Morrison’s “M Kitchen” and with a sturdy nudge from my girlfriend (www.naomiishungry.wordpress.com) I thought perhaps I could start a blog about celebrity endorsed ready meals and a few weeks later here I am.

I will eventually eat my way through all these meals and report back, but to start with – Pierre Koffman. Pierre Koffman was one of the first chefs in the UK to gain 3 michelin stars, he is famous for stuffed pigs trotters and pistachio souffles, however quite wisely he has avoided turning his signature dishes into a ready meal and opted for a French Burgundy classic a beef bourguignon.

I was very excited about this meal and thought it would be great, I opened the box and inside there were three pouches two of the bourguignon and one with mashed potato. In the old days pouches of food like this would be called boil in the bag, however this is Pierre we are dealing with so they are sous vide, which is French for boil in the bag*.

I plunged the pouches into simmering water for 20 minutes and whacked the mash in the microwave for 5 and dinner was served. The first thing that struck me was that the mash was very gluey, I don’t think mash is a good microwaveable food stuff and perhaps it defeats the object of a ready meal but Pierre could have left us to make our own mash and saved us the discomfort of trying his. The bourguignon itself  was a game of two halves the sauce was very thin and not nearly as rich as i’d hoped, however the ox cheeks were good and meaty and had nice flavour; the button mushrooms tasted of nothing but rubber, however the shallots were lovely and sweet.

It was a confusing bowl of food I really wanted to like it and I had high hopes for it but alas even the mighty Pierre Koffman could not make a hit out of a beef bourguignon in a bag. Bring on the Bryn Williams shepherd’s pie.

*Sous Vide does not mean boil in the bag. I have no idea what the literal translation is.

Pierre Koffman Beef Bourguignon from Morrison’s M Kitchen – £7.99 (currently £5.99)

5/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pierre Koffman Beef Bourguignon from Morrison’s M Kitchen

  1. MDowler, BA Hons French. (Plus Wikipedia) says:

    “Sous-vide ( /suːˈviːd/; French for “under vacuum”)[1] is a method of cooking food sealed in airtight plastic bags in a water bath for a long time—72 hours is not unusual—at an accurately determined temperature much lower than normally used for cooking, typically around 60 °C or 140 °F. The intention is to cook the item evenly, not overcook the outside while still keeping the inside at the same ‘doneness’ and to keep the food juicier.”

    Most French just say “bouillir dans le sac”, though.

    • Well there you have it cooked “under vacuum” no wonder we stick with the French. However I think if all chefs adopted the phrase “bouillir dans le sac” cookery shows would get a lot more entertaining!

      • MDowler, BA Hons French. (Plus Wikipedia) says:

        NB most French don’t actually say ‘bouillir dans le sac’, that’s just me doing some witty ‘incorrect translation’ stuff. They should say it though.

      • Yes I thought as much but “bouillir dans le sac” does have a beautiful ring to it – it should be brought into daily usage.

  2. Kate says:

    You use good verbs in your writing Mark Bixter. I am surprised to see you attempting anything that involves boiling in a bag but I enjoyed reading it.

  3. Pingback: Heston from Waitrose Mashed Potato | Michelin Microwave

  4. Pingback: Aldo Zilli Handmade Italian Sausage Pasta Parcels for Morrison’s M Kitchen | Michelin Microwave

Leave a Reply

