Levi Roots Reggae Reggae Chicken With Rice & Peas

Levi Roots as everyone knows is a dude. He is perhaps the coolest man on the planet. If it wasn’t a foregone conclusion that Reggae Reggae Sauce would get a 10/10 for being the most exciting thing to add to most dishes since Lea and Perrins, I may well have written a blog about it.

But Levi has come a long way since bottling his Reggae Reggae Sauce, his range is now so big it is getting silly. Off the top of my head I know it includes, Reggae Reggae Nuts, Reggae Reggae Korma, Reggae Reggae Carribean Curry, 3 kinds of Reggae Reggae Fizzy Drink, Reggae Reggae Birds Eye Chicken Chargrills, Reggae Reggae Cooking Sauce, Reggae Reggae Rasta Pasta, Reggae Reggae Ketchup, Reggae Reggae Dipping Sauce, Reggae Reggae BBQ Sauce, a few varieties of Reggae Reggae Fruit Juice and a whole range of Reggae Reggae Ready Meals  and i’m sure there are more. So not content with having flavours of the Reggae Reggae Carribean covered, Levi has also conquered British, Indian and Italian cuisines to boot.

I thought that for my first Reggae Reggae blog I should keep traditional and let Levi fight his Reggae Reggae corner on his own turf and bought frozen Reggae Reggae Chicken with Rice & Peas. The ready meal goes in the oven at 190c for 35 mins with film on, a quick Reggae Reggae stir and then the last 10 mins with the film lid off (you can microwave it for 11 mins). It comes out and looks appetising enough considering it is sat in a plastic tray. I don’t concern myself too much with appearances and leave it in there to save on washing up.

The sauce is a good consistency pitching itself perfectly between gloopy and watery and it tastes so, so good. It has the obvious chilli heat, perfectly pitched, hot enough so you feel the benefit but not so hot that you can’t taste anything else. The spice mix is complex and the list of ingredients long, but the accumulation of them all gives a great depth to the sauce. There are chunks of pepper in the mix adding a good crunch. The chicken itself was a real surprise; a generous portion and the flesh was firm and meaty, no sense of processed meat and no fake tenderising. I am almost certain the chicken used would have been the squashed cage scrabbling in its own excrement variety as there was nothing on the box to suggest otherwise (I tweeted Levi to ask – he didn’t respond) but it was surprisingly good for all that.

The only downside to the meal was that some of the rice was 100% uncooked like the factory mixed the dry grains and cooked rice together. It was disturbing when you bit down on one and I was on edge everytime.

Overall a fantastic ready meal and an absolute bargain. Just sort your rice out Levi.

Reggae Reggae Chicken with Rice & Peas £2.49 for 500g

9/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Levi Roots Reggae Reggae Chicken With Rice & Peas

  1. Huh; you know I’ve never ever tried Reggae Reggae sauce. Sounds like I should see what all the fuss is about.

    Um; so, right… Do you never take the ready meal out of the little plastic tray and put the food directly on a plate…? I always do, but now I can’t think for the life of me WHY.

    C.//
    X.

  2. Pingback: Levi Roots Hot Chilli Beef Pasty | Michelin Microwave

  3. Pingback: Levi Roots Pepper Pot Chicken and Jerk Chicken Wings and Sunshine Rice | Michelin Microwave

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday Michelin Microwave | Michelin Microwave

  5. OldLag says:

    Ok – I know I’m a year late with this… I just had a R-R Caribbean Chilli Beef ready meal (from the nearly-out-of-date-counter at the supermarket). It was ok but surprisingly bland given that it was three chillis hot on the packet, and I’m not a great chilli fan. I think Levi really needs to sort out his chilli grading system as it seems quite inconsistent.

  6. You’re so right! Everything about the Reggae Reggae range is inconsistent. I feel I should try this dish again and see if I feel the same about it now…

Leave a Reply

