Anthony Worrall Thompson Sweet and Smoky BBQ Marinade

I’m always keeping my eyes peeled for new celeb goods to poison myself with, but as time goes on it gets trickier and trickier to find new things. Sure there’ll always be something from Heston at Waitrose that I haven’t tried and there’s roughly three new products a day added to the Reggae Reggae range so I can always revert to that when times are hard, but it is the more unusual that I try to seek out. The other weekend I went on a supermarket tour of South London to try and eke out some new things, on the whole it was pretty successful (as the next few weeks blogging will show), with ASDA Clapham Junction coming up with a few gems, including today’s treat.

I knew Anthony Worrall Thompson had a range of products, in fact I previously reviewed his stock cubes, and up to now they were the only product I had seen from him apart from some gravy granules. The granules looked so pale they resembled Horlicks and I felt that they should be an absolute last resort and not something I would allow to ruin a perfectly good roast… but one day!

We don’t hear much from Anthony these days since his restaurant chain went into administration at the start of the recession, and then a brief spell of media attention when he started stealing from Tesco in Henley. Some may say that is a good thing but I’d like to know what he’s up to and check he’s OK, so if you’re reading this Anthony drop me a line.

All the food in Anthony’s products are gluten free, I’ve never really understood gluten outside of a baking scenario. Gluten free bread is definitely worse than it’s glutinous counterpart, but when it comes to stock, gravy and BBQ Marinades I’m not too sure what a difference it makes. I guess I’m about to find out.

AWT Marinade

I opened the pack of marinade first thing in the morning to let it work it’s magic on some porky ribs. The stuff may well have been gluten free, but I don’t think it was glue free, it was incredibly dense and sticky, like edible tar. It smelt very sweet, in fact it smelt just like McDonalds BBQ dipping sauce but it was 10 times thicker. I would like to say I poured it over the ribs but spreading would be a more accurate term. Anyhow they got coated, covered in cling film and left to marinade for a good few hours while I went off to work.

I put them in the oven and roasted them for about 90 minutes, the sweet smell of the marinade was much better at the end of the day than it was at 7.30 in the morning. With the heat of the oven the glue melted into a deep red sauce and mingled with the fat of the ribs to create an unctuous fatty glaze.

Ribs Cooked

I served up and received a big smack in the face of synthetic smokiness, sweet sauce and vinegary bite. It was lacking in any kind of subtlety and the power of the marinade was overwhelming. I really liked it. It was exactly what I wanted. I realise this might not be to everyone’s taste and you may well buy a sachet and think this guy is off his rocker to enjoy it, but there you have it, that’s subjectivity for you, and what is a blog if not a pile subjective thoughts, cobbled together in a semi-coherent fashion.

Anthony Worrall Thompson Sweet and Smoky BBQ Marinade £1.34 for 200g

8/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anthony Worrall Thompson Sweet and Smoky BBQ Marinade

  1. marymary says:

    poor potato. no butter or anything. Sauce looks good though.

Leave a Reply

