Heston from Waitrose Salted Caramel Popcorn Ice Cream

Here I am, once again writing about a Heston product. It’s an ice cream that I have had sitting in the freezer for a couple of months. Every now and again I dip into the tub, have a taste and think that I must write it up. The reason it has taken me so long (apart from laziness) is that every time I eat some of the stuff I feel differently about it. I’ve hit every notch on the scale from ‘meh’ to amazement which makes it tricky to write a coherent blog post. It has also made me doubt everything I have ever written on this blog. What if those Barry Norman pickled onions were actually horrid? What if that Reggae Reggae chocolate was actually the best chocolate ever made? What if for the past couple of years I have been doing a disservice to celebrities who put their name to food products right across the land? Perhaps I need to make my taste testing more thorough, and much like a New York Times restaurant critic I should try each product at least 3 times before writing about it. The upshot is I can’t be bothered, and I don’t imagine anyone takes my blog as seriously as the New York Times so I think I’m safe.

Heston Ice Cream Tub

Salted caramel is everywhere these days, and I have no problem with that – I’m a big fan. Heston has gone the extra mile and coupled the ubiquitous stuff with ubiquitous popcorn and  everyone loves popcorn, so this ice cream should be a winner.

It sounds like the kind of thing that could easily bring on type 2 diabetes and it tastes like it could too. One consistent across all my tastings is that this was an ice cream for people with a sweet tooth. It’s not just sweet because of the caramel and popcorn, the ice cream base isn’t sugar shy either.

Heston Ice Cream Bowl

The salted caramel comes in the form of dark shards of crunch which is a surprising texture to find lurking in an ice cream, it is more caramel than salt though which is a shame as the saltiness could have countered the sweetness. The popcorn comes as blitzed up pieces rather than whole kernels, which is a good idea as it maintains the chewiness of popcorn, I imagine whole kernels frozen in cream would turn to a mushy bleurgh.

Having tasted the stuff again today before writing I’m feeling quite positive about it. If I have some more tomorrow I will probably feel differently again.

Heston from Waitrose Salted Caramel Popcorn Ice Cream £2.99 for 500ml

Somewhere between 4 and 7/10

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Heston from Waitrose Salted Caramel Popcorn Ice Cream

  1. OldLag says:

    Just noticed ‘Waitorse’… (sorry)

    Having said that, why anyone would want popcorn in their ice cream is beyond me.

    • Doh! Thanks for pointing it out – I’ve rectified it now. Oh come on… we all love a bit of popcorn in our ice cream!

      • OldLag says:

        I don’t. What an extraordinary idea. Next you will be telling us that you – oh, I don’t know – sprinkle salt on your toffees!

        (sorry – there is still a bit of ‘Waitorse’ lurking. Can you find it?)

      • Thank you! I started a new job recently, I made big claims about having “attention to detail” etc etc You have smashed that theory with your “Waitorse” spotting.

        I’m going to think about what I’ve done whilst I chew on some salty toffee.

  2. Jules says:

    You’ve got to try the Malted Milk and Marmalade Heston Ice Cream from Waitrose – it’s amazeballs! Tastes just like wholemeal toast with lashings of butter and marmalade on top – takes me right back to being a kid. And it’s not too sweet. But I eat half a tub at a go, so not so good lol! Love this blog 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment and for reading! The ice cream sounds right up my street and I’ll give it a go. I need something to restore my faith in Heston as the last few things I’ve tried haven’t been so great.

Leave a Reply

